Saturday was programmed to be the first two races for the new Coad Trophy that long time Class Captain (and now Club Commodore) Jos Coad presented at the end of last season.   However, sadly the persistent thick mist and light airs put paid to any hopes of racing and the first two Coad Trophy series races were therefore postponed to the following day.

On Sunday conditions were much better with a Southerly F3  breeze, a moderate to calm sea and reasonable visibility.  Seven One-Designs lined up for the start of the first race with the outer mark as Janson and Under Tyne as the windward mark.  With all the fleet starting on  starboard except Charles Evans in No 12 who led for the first round but then Rob Mathieson in No 1 and Hugh Doherty in No 10 eased through with Charles Evans coming home third.

The second race started in light rain, again with all boats on starboard apart from Charles Armitage in No 12 who led from start to finish.  Peter Summerhayes in No 1 hung on but couldn’t pass and came in second with James Palmer sailing a solid race in No 3 in third

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are essential to make this site work and others help us to gain insight into how it is being used.
These cookies are set when you submit a form, login or interact with the site by doing something that goes beyond clicking some simple links. We also use some non-essential cookies to anonymously track visitors or enhance your experience of this site. If you're not happy with this, we won't set these cookies but some nice features on the site may be unavailable. To control third party cookies, you can also adjust your browser settings. If you wish to view any policies or terms of usage that you cannot find on this website, please contact us. You can change your mind and opt-out at any time by clicking the ✻ icon above.
I consent to cookies
I don't consent to cookies